International Scientific Committee

  Print version of this article RSS

In 2007, ESPCI Paris established an International Scientific Committee which, under the terms of its remit, "presents annually to the Board of Directors a written report on teaching and research activity, and makes proposals for orientations." The International Scientific Committee is composed of eminent, internationally recognized figures from the academic world, research and industry. The ten members are named by the President of the Committee on a joint proposal by the Director General, and the President of the Scientific Council of the City of Paris.

ESPCI Paris is one of the world’s few institutions of higher education and research to have assembled a team of exceptional scope, capable of jointly developing an overall vision for the institution’s major scientific and educational policy orientations, to position the School permanently in the international arena.


Prof. Michael Cates
- Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at the University of Cambridge
- Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS)
- Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (FRSE)
Theoretical physicist in soft matter, Mike Cates is reknown for his work on polymers, colloids, tensoactives, bacteria suspensions and granular media.

Members from academia

Prof. Jian Ping Gong
- Professor at the Laboratory of Soft & Wet Matter at Hokkaido University, Sapporo (Japan)

Prof. Laura H. Greene
- Physics professor at Florida State University
- Chief Scientist at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
- Professor of physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Prof. Hui Cao
- Yale University (USA)

Prof. Ben Feringa (Nobel prize)
- Groningen University (Netherland)

Prof. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski
- Carnegie Mellon University (Pennsylvanie, USA)
- Polymer Group

Prof. Bruno Weber
- University of Zurich (Switzerland)
- Institute of Pharmacology & Toxicology - Experimental Imaginig and Neuroenergetics

Members from industry

Dr. Armand Ajdari
- Vice-president Research & Development of Saint-Gobain (France)

Dr. Éric Carreel
- President-founder of Inventel, Invoxia, Sculpteo & Withings (France)

Dr. Helen Routh
- Advisor to hospital/academia/industry partnerships & startups; former Senior Vice President, Strategy & Innovation, Royal Philips

10 Rue Vauquelin, 75005 Paris